top of page
Writer's pictureChloe Jade

Simple Plan: The Antidote (Review)

Updated: Jan 25, 2022

Simple Plan were one of the first bands I found myself connecting to the lyrics of and while the band and their music have matured over the years, I find that statement still to be true.


The last album released from the Canadian rock band (aside from the 15th Anniversary Tour Edition of No Pads, No Helmets... Just Balls (2018)) was Taking One for the Team (2016) and since then we have been blessed with a number of singles including Where I Belong (feat. We The Kings) (2019) and their feature on Chad Tepper's I Hate Everybody (feat. Simple Plan) (2021).


A further single was released in November 2021, The Antidote.



For someone who spent their teenage years listening to Fall Out Boy, Green Day and Paramore and hearing how much their musical styles have adapted over the years, this newest release brings on feelings of nostalgia. The vocals are much smoother and the mixing of the song is much clearer, but it could fit right in with the tracks on Still Not Getting Any (2004) or the more recent album GetYour Heart On! (2011).


I'm caught up in a life that I wish I could erase I want to disappear, want to leave without a trace I'm looking in the mirror but I can't see through the pain So I take another pill and I hope it goes away

Right off the bat, Simple Plan come in with these lyrics that may hit quite close to home for a lot of people. These words really shine, as the instrumentation slowly builds throughout the verse, giving the words a chance to stand out when they can be easily washed out. Despite the deeper meaning behind the words, the music feels upbeat and catchy from punchy filtered drums and the electric guitar adding to the rhythm of the track.


'Cause my broken pieces don't fit in

This one line is what makes up the pre-chorus, the instrumentation drops down to a minimal while still keeping enough to make this part of the track feel warm, to allow a brief moment for the words to sink in. Once again striking a chord with people who may not feel like they belong - so many of us think of ourselves as broken, which makes this part even more emotional.


Every time I feel alone Like the walls are caving in Like I never win Like it's crawling under my skin You're the antidote
Even when it hurts the most And I'm trying to find a way But there's no escape Like a poison filling my veins You're the antidote

The drums kick in properly as we reach the hook of the song, giving it much more depth as we get into the chorus. It's very well mixed and the balance between the guitar, drums and vocals is done incredibly well, with the bass bringing a more whole sound by providing the low end without being in your face. The chorus is punchy and catchy with lyrics you can scream at the top of your lungs without shame. It shines a positive light on that negative mentality, by having someone be the light in the dark, the antidote.


How do I go on when my dreams are ripped and torn? I'm tired and I don't wanna fake it anymore When it's all too much and I feel like I'm about to break You always come around and the darkness fades away, fades away

After the first chorus the music reverts back to the more stripped back sound, filtered drums driving the rhythm on during the instrumental part before the lyrics of the second verse start. This verse gets quite intense quickly with harmonies adding layers to help build this verse.


There is such a difference between the lines 'I'm tired and I don't wanna fake it anymore' which is sang in this very nice melodic tone, but with it, it symbolises the tiredness that the lyrics are actually speaking about.


Compare that to the next line, 'When it's all too much and I feel like I'm about to break,' the melody is still present, but the actual tone of the melody is sharper - just like someone who may have reached their breaking point. It's a very clever way to really portray within the music the emotions that are related to the lyrics. It's subtle, but it's definitely there, which is why it impacts even more here as it goes into the second chorus.


The song continues to build throughout the second chorus and into the interlude, where the guitar takes it's turn in the spotlight, with the rest of the instrumentation backing it up. After the guitar solo it does drop down again to make the final chorus even more effective without having to add in something like a key change.


Following the third and final chorus, there is a series of "Whoa's" mixed in nicely over the hook of the song, "You're the antidote" to finally bring the song to a close, the instrumentation calming down one last time before cutting off during the final lyrics of the song.


All in all, the song is upbeat and catchy whilst also maintaining a deeper level of meaning within the lyrics which many people will find themselves connecting to and may even treat the song as an anthem of sorts. One of the things that inspires me about Simple Plan is the way they keep their songs down to earth and real. Real, valid feelings that can make someone feel less alone in their own, similar feelings.


Hopefully, this single is a sign of what else we can expect from Simple Plan as they head into their 6th studio album as information about a brand new song due to be released in February was mentioned on an Instagram Live Chat recently so there is definitely new music on the horizon for the band!








22 views0 comments

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page